A Quest for Full Citizenship

The African American Odyssey: A Quest for Full Citizenship showcases the African American collections of the Library of Congress, with more than 240 items, including books, government documents, manuscripts, maps, musical scores, plays, films, and recordings.

This online exhibit is divided into 9 sections…

  • Slavery–The Peculiar Institution
  • Free Blacks in the Antebellum Period
  • Abolition
  • The Civil War
  • Reconstruction
  • Booker T. Washington Era
  • World War I and Postwar Society
  • Depression, New Deal, and World War II
  • Civil Rights


A stunning exhibit on the African American experience in American history has been divided into 9 sections: Slavery, Free Blacks, Abolition, The Civil War, Reconstruction, Booker T. Washington, World I, New Deal and WWII, and Civil Rights.